Server projects |
|
<< Click to show table of contents >> Navigation: Project management >
|
Contents
1. Overview of Server Projects
1. Overview of Server Projects
Once a user has logged in to the application, the Open Project page is displayed. Here, the user can first switch between the Local Projects and Server Projects tabs.
The Server Projects tab is explained below.
Figure 1 shows an overview of all projects uploaded to the server. If no projects have been uploaded or there is no connection to a server, the list is empty.
The server projects overview displays all projects that belong to the respective user or whose visibility has been shared with the user (either individually or globally for everyone).
If a server project is not visible to a user, it has not been made visible to that user (or to anyone).
If there is no connection to the server, or if the current authentication credentials have expired or are no longer valid, the loading of the overview is canceled accordingly.
The server projects overview contains the same columns as the local projects. Additionally, the date of the last upload and the project owner are displayed.

Figure 1 - Overview of Server Projects
Clicking the button |
|
downloads a project from the server. Once a project has been downloaded from the server, it is saved as a local copy in the Local Projects tab. |
|
Note: If a user is the owner of a project, the existing project ID of the server project is also used for local management. If a local project with your own ID already exists, it will be overwritten (after a confirmation prompt). If a user is not the owner of a project but only has read access (based on the specified visibility settings), a new unique project ID is created, under which the project is then saved locally. This process creates a new, unique project from the server project, with the current user as its (new) owner. The new local project can then be uploaded under the same name, since the internal assignment of project IDs guarantees the uniqueness of the projects. |
Click the |
|
button to open the context menu for a server project. From here, you can click the Share button to share the project with other users. |
|
Note: The context menu button is only available for the user’s own projects. |
A new window will then open where you can specify who the project should be shared with.
First, you can set the sharing mode. You can choose between All Users and Selected Users. If you select All Users, all available users will be granted the corresponding visibility.
Saved sharing settings are retained, so any selective sharing configurations you’ve created can be restored by switching the mode.
If Selected Users is selected, you can use the buttons |
|
to move the desired users from the Unassigned Users column to the Authorized Users column. |
Clicking the Save button finalizes the project’s permissions. This automatically returns the view to the project overview
The Delete button opens the following dialog. If you confirm this dialog by clicking Yes, the project will be deleted from the server and cannot be restored!

Figure 2 - Note: Delete Project
To edit a server project, you must first download it using the |
|
button. |
It then appears in the Local Projects tab and can be edited as described in the chapter Local Projects, section Editing a Local Project.
© SimPlan AG - Hanau District Court, Commercial Register (Part B) 6845 - info@simplan.de - www.simplan.de/en